top of page

General Election House of Representatives

On Wednesday, March 15, 2017, elections for members of the House of Representatives will take place. Bonaire, as a special municipality of the European Netherlands, will partake in this election.

XpBonaire, Island Life , News, Information, Election 2017, House of representatives, Tweede kamer Verkiezingen

Voting from abroad

Who abroad can vote?

To vote from abroad you must meet the following criteria:

- You must be a Dutch national.

- On Wednesday, March 15th, 2017, (the day of the election) you must be 18 years old or older.

- You are not registered in a Dutch municipality, Bonaire, Statia and Saba.

- You are not excluded from voting.


If you live in Bonaire, Statia and Saba, registration for participation in the House of Representatives election is not required. All Dutch voters on Bonaire, Statia and Saba receive a voting pass and are able to vote on March 15, 2017 at a polling station.

The House of Representatives (Tweede Kamer)


  • The House of Representatives is the main chamber of Parliament. Proposed legislation is discussed here and Cabinet actions are reviewed.

  • The Cabinet and the House of Representatives both have the right to propose legislation. After legislation is discussed in the House of Representatives and adopted by a majority, it will be sent to the Senate.

  • Review of Cabinet actions takes place in the form of formal interrogations. This may result in motions urging the Cabinet to take, or refrain from, certain actions.

  • No individual may be a member of both Parliament and the Cabinet, except in a caretaker cabinet that is in place until a new House is sworn in.

  • The House of Representatives is also responsible for the first round selection of judges to the Supreme Court of the Netherlands. It submits to the Government a list of three names for every vacant position.

  • Furthermore, it elects the Dutch Ombudsman and his subordinates.

Electoral system

The House of Representatives, or Second Chamber (Tweede Kamer) is composed of 150 seats elected by proportional representation in a single nationwide constituency. The office of Prime Minister is traditionally reserved for the leader of the party coming first in the elections, meaning there is an incentive for parties and voters to concentrate their vote.


House of Representatives (Tweede Kamer der Staten-Generaal), States General of the Netherlands

Type: Lower House



Khadija Arib, Labour Party

Since 13 January 2016

First Deputy Speaker

Ton Elias, People's Party for

Freedom and Democracy

Since 13 January 2016


Political groups (2016)

Government (76):

VVD (40)

PvdA (36)

Opposition parties (74)

SP (15)

CDA (13)

PVV (12)

D66 (12)

CU (5)

GL (4)

SGP (3)

PvdD (2)

50PLUS (1)

Independents (7)

Last election: 12 September 2012

Next election: March 15, 2017

For more info and updates go to the website (stemmen vanuit het buitenland)

19 views0 comments
bottom of page